
According to reports from crypto.news, Charles Schwab announced plans to add Solana (SOL), Avalanche (AVAX), and Chainlink (LINK) to its crypto platform in the coming months. The expansion was officially announced on August 27, 2026, taking Schwab Crypto's planned token selection from two assets to five, with Bitcoin and Ethereum currently being the only cryptocurrencies available when direct trading began earlier in 2026. A launch date was not disclosed, and Schwab did not specify whether all three assets would become available simultaneously or through a phased approach. The company stated it may delay, change or withdraw support in response to regulatory, operational or market developments, as reported by Coindoo. Joe Vietri, Head of Digital Assets at Charles Schwab, emphasized that "With this expansion, clients will have more choices to build a digital asset allocation alongside the investing and banking experience they know and trust at Schwab."
As reported by crypto.news, Schwab reported $13.04 trillion in total client assets at the end of July 2026, with 39.9 million active brokerage accounts giving the new listings a potentially large audience among investors who already manage stocks, funds, cash and retirement savings through Schwab. The firm recorded $7.1 billion in quarterly revenue, representing a 21% increase from the previous year, while daily average trades increased 57% to 11.9 million. Following the announcement, Solana traded at approximately $104.84, gaining more than 9% over 24 hours with reported trading volume climbing almost 70%. Avalanche rose about 2% within an hour of the news, while Chainlink gained more than 2% during the same period and extended its 24-hour increase beyond 5%. As Coindoo reports, the announcement advances a broader digital-asset strategy that includes direct retail crypto trading and preparation of transfer, trading and custody services for independent financial advisors.
According to crypto.news, Schwab charges 0.75% per crypto transaction for its direct trading service, with Charles Schwab Premier Bank holding customer assets while Paxos provides trade execution and sub-custody. The service allows clients to view their crypto holdings alongside stocks, bonds, exchange-traded funds, and other investments through Schwab.com, Schwab Mobile, and thinkorswim. The retail service began without support for external deposits and withdrawals, though the company has started testing crypto transfers during its July earnings update. As reported by Coindoo, the fee structure applies separately to purchases and sales, with a $1,000 purchase costing $7.50 and selling the position adding another $7.50, producing a total trading cost of $15. Active trading can accumulate fees quickly, with ten separate $1,000 transactions generating $75 in charges. The company also offers in-depth digital assets education and resources, including insights from the Schwab Center for Financial Research and crypto-focused content through Schwab Coaching.
As reported by Coindoo, SOL serves as the native asset of the Solana blockchain, paying network fees and supporting staking through validator delegation, with demand reflecting activity across decentralized exchanges, payments, tokenized assets and consumer applications. AVAX pays transaction fees and supports staking across the Avalanche ecosystem while providing infrastructure for organizations building customized blockchain environments. LINK supports Chainlink's oracle and cross-chain infrastructure, delivering external data to blockchain applications and helping networks exchange information across multiple ecosystems. The tokens frequently appear together in market rankings, yet each belongs to a different type of crypto network, with five available cryptocurrencies potentially behaving like one concentrated allocation during market-wide selloffs. SOL and AVAX share exposure to conditions affecting smart-contract networks, while LINK has a separate function though its price remains closely connected to crypto market sentiment.
As reported by crypto.news, Schwab's 0.75% transaction fee places it between several financial competitors, sitting below Fidelity's reported charge of about 1% but above Morgan Stanley's E*Trade crypto service fee of 0.5%. Before introducing direct trading, Schwab's customers could gain crypto exposure through exchange-traded funds, futures, and the Schwab Crypto Thematic ETF. The company previously reported that clients held about $25 billion in crypto exchange-traded products through the firm. The crypto community noted that the firm failed to announce some leading and in-demand crypto such as XRP, HYPE, and Zcash, though Charles Schwab confirmed it will add additional crypto assets to the Schwab Crypto platform over time. As Coindoo notes, the quality of the service will depend on final account terms, with transfer rights, staking access, order types and execution details determining how useful the platform becomes when the three listings go live.
According to crypto.news, Schwab Crypto was initially unavailable to customers in New York, Louisiana, U.S. territories, and international markets, with the service currently available across most U.S. states. The company's latest announcement did not specify whether geographic availability will change when the three assets are introduced. Customers require a separate Schwab Crypto account linked to their existing relationship with the brokerage, with asset custody remaining with Schwab Premier Bank and its infrastructure provider rather than offering self-custody options. As Coindoo reports, Schwab Crypto accounts are currently available across most U.S. states, with New York and Louisiana excluded, and the service is also unavailable in U.S. territories and international jurisdictions, with every applicant remaining subject to an eligibility review.